HSO logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is HSO?

TL;DR
  • HSO here means Health & Safety Officer Certification from the Fire Department Safety Officers Association (FDSOA), not any other credential sharing the...
  • The written exam is 100 multiple-choice questions, four hours, with a 70% minimum score.
  • Certification also requires six randomly assigned practical skill sheets, attested by a Chief Officer's signed affidavit.
  • The published fees are $95 (FDSOA Exam Fee) and $225 for non-members; training and materials cost extra.

What HSO Means Here

"HSO" stands for Health & Safety Officer. In this article, and across this site, it refers to one specific credential: the Health & Safety Officer Certification administered by the Fire Department Safety Officers Association (FDSOA). The acronym is shared by other, unrelated credentials in other industries, so searching the three letters alone can send you to the wrong exam entirely. Everything below describes the fire-service credential only.

The health and safety officer is the person in a fire or emergency-services organization responsible for the department-wide systems that keep personnel safe over the long run: written risk management plans, accident prevention, training programs, protective equipment, facility inspections, health maintenance and infection control. That is a different job from standing on the fireground watching for hazards, which is where the Incident Safety Officer comes in (more on that distinction below).

If you want the plain-language definitions of the term, our short explainers cover what HSO stands for and the meaning of HSO. For the certification itself in more depth, see What Is HSO Certification?

Who Runs the Credential

FDSOA is both the issuer and the administering body. The association arranges locally proctored examinations, and those sessions can take the form of individual, departmental, regional, academy or conference exams. No separate national commercial testing vendor or dedicated HSO remote-proctoring service was verified in the issuer sources, so candidates should plan on an FDSOA-arranged session rather than a walk-in testing center.

Certifications are registered and maintained through the Pro Board, which accredits certifying agencies. The Pro Board is not a commercial testing provider; it stands behind the credential's recognition and can audit the practical documentation that candidates are required to retain.

Why the issuer matters: Several training companies and universities sell HSO-related courses, but those courses do not replace FDSOA's own written exam and practical sign-off. A course completion certificate and the FDSOA certification are different things, and each provider's prerequisites, hours and prices belong to that provider, not to the exam.

Written Exam Plus Practical Skill Sheets

HSO certification has two components, and candidates sometimes prepare for only one.

The written examination

  • Format: 100 multiple-choice questions
  • Time: four hours
  • Minimum score: 70% correct

The issuer sources reviewed do not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored, and no aggregate pass rate is published. Any pass-rate figure you see quoted elsewhere is not coming from FDSOA. Our HSO pass rate and HSO passing score pages explain what is and is not known.

The practical skill sheets

Certification also requires six randomly assigned practical skill sheets. A Chief Officer signs an affidavit attesting that you completed them, and that affidavit must reach FDSOA within one year of the written exam before a certificate is issued. You return the affidavit but keep the actual completed skill sheets, because they may be requested in a Pro Board audit.

That one-year skills window is its own clock. It is separate from the four-hour written-exam timer, and it is also separate from the duration of any academy or course you attend. Passing the written exam does not make you certified; the paperwork has to close the loop.

Key Takeaway

Treat the practical sheets as a project with a deadline, not an afterthought. Start lining up your Chief Officer and your documentation soon after you test, and keep the completed sheets on file in case of audit.

The 20 Practical Competency Areas

FDSOA publishes 20 skill sheets, each tied to a job performance requirement in NFPA 1521 Chapter 4. These are practical-assessment objectives. They are not a weighted written-exam blueprint, and no percentage allocations are published, so do not assume the written test is divided evenly among them. They are, however, the clearest official picture of what an HSO is expected to be able to do, and they are the foundation of the topics a candidate should master.

Planning and program development

Domains 1 through 5: Writing the Plans

The first group asks you to produce written, usable documents rather than recite theory.

  • Develop a written risk management plan
  • Develop a treatment and transport plan
  • Develop a standard operating procedure/guideline
  • Develop a training and education program
  • Develop a safety procedure for live fire training

Operations, prevention and investigation

Domains 6 through 12: Prevention, Audit and Response to Failure

These cover keeping accidents from happening and learning from the ones that do.

  • Manage an accident prevention program
  • Implement training for safe work practices on emergency and nonemergency operations
  • Develop an emergency vehicle safety program
  • Conduct periodic safety audit
  • Accident investigative procedures
  • Post-incident analysis
  • Develop corrective action plan

Records, equipment and facilities

Domains 13 through 17: Data, Apparatus, Protective Gear and Buildings

This group is where an HSO's work looks most like systems management.

  • Records management and data analysis
  • Apparatus and equipment specifications
  • Verify apparatus and equipment testing and inspections
  • Protective clothing and protective equipment program
  • Facility inspection program

Health and liaison functions

Domains 18 through 20: People and Coordination

The final group centers on member health and on working with others outside the safety office.

  • Health maintenance program
  • Liaison for health and safety programs
  • Infection control program

For a candidate-oriented walkthrough of how to approach each area, see HSO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 20 Content Areas.

What an academy curriculum adds

An FDSOA-hosted Health Safety Officer Academy published a preparation curriculum covering introduction to emergency-services occupational safety and health, risk management, pre-incident safety considerations, safety and the emergency scene, post-incident stress management, personnel roles and responsibilities, safety-program development and evaluation, and information management. Those topics are unweighted historical highlights, not an exhaustive exam blueprint, but they show the kind of conceptual ground that supports the practical competencies above.

HSO vs. ISO

The most common point of confusion in this field is between the Health & Safety Officer and the Incident Safety Officer. FDSOA offers both, they are separate credentials, and their rules should not be mixed.

AspectHealth & Safety Officer (HSO)Incident Safety Officer (ISO)
Primary focusDepartment-wide programs, policies, equipment, health and recordsSafety oversight at an emergency incident
TimeframeBefore and after incidents, ongoing program managementDuring the incident
Practical componentSix randomly assigned skill sheets plus Chief Officer affidavitHas its own separate requirements
Where to look for rulesThe FDSOA HSO page and HSO skill sheetsFDSOA's ISO materials

Be careful with cross-contamination. The HSO page on FDSOA's site contains an apparent copied ISO-role reference in its examination paragraph, which is a reminder to verify details against multiple official pages. The general certification FAQ independently corroborates the written-exam format, so the identity of this credential is not in question, but you should never assume an ISO training, exam or affidavit rule applies to HSO.

Eligibility and the NFPA Edition Question

FDSOA's overview allows members, non-members sponsored by their authority having jurisdiction (AHJ), and individuals who meet the HSO duties and job performance requirements (JPRs). The current application asks for professional-experience details, an applicant signature and a chief or employer attestation that references the NFPA 1020 fire officer standard.

There is a version wrinkle worth understanding. The HSO overview page still cites NFPA 1521-2015, Chapter 4, Section 4.1.1. The current linked application, along with all 20 practical sheets retrieved, specifies NFPA 1521-2020 Chapter 4, Section 4.1.1, even though the sheet filenames still show 2015. NFPA has also documented the consolidation of NFPA 1521 into NFPA 1550. That alone does not prove which edition the written exam currently follows, so candidates should confirm with FDSOA when they apply.

Experience requirements: An older application form contained an explicit five-year experience clause that does not appear on the newer form. Don't treat five years as a current universal rule, but don't assume the requirement vanished either: the JPRs and the AHJ attestation still apply. No universal education, experience-hours or mandatory training-hours figure is published. Our HSO requirements guide tracks these details.

Fees, Application and Test-Day Mechanics

Published fees are $95 under the exact label "FDSOA Exam Fee" and $225 for non-members. Training and materials are priced separately. Read the first figure as exactly what the issuer labels it, not as a blanket member discount you are automatically entitled to. For a fuller picture of what total spending can look like, see the HSO certification cost breakdown.

  • Application: submit 15 days before the test date.
  • Arrival: arrive 30 minutes before the scheduled start with valid picture identification.
  • Late check-in: candidates who have not checked in 15 minutes before the start are disallowed under the HSO procedure.
  • Retake: a retake is permitted at no additional fee within 90 days of the original test date.
  • Study pace: self-paced study is supported.

Because sessions are scheduled by FDSOA and its hosts, availability depends on who is running an exam near you. The HSO exam dates guide covers scheduling considerations. Reasonable accommodations are addressed in FDSOA's general certification guidance; HSO-specific policies on open-book materials, calculators or adaptive testing were not verified, so ask before test day instead of assuming.

Preparing Around the Real Structure

Because the credential has a 100-question written test and a separate practical track, the sensible plan runs both in parallel. One short, HSO-specific way to sequence it:

Weeks 1-2

Program-building foundations

  • Risk management plan, SOP/guideline and training program (Domains 1, 3, 4)
  • Read the current recommended text, Occupational Safety and Health in the Emergency Services, Fifth Edition
Weeks 3-4

Prevention, audit and investigation

  • Accident prevention, safety audit, accident investigation, post-incident analysis, corrective action (Domains 6, 9-12)
Weeks 5-6

Equipment, facilities and health

  • Apparatus specs and testing, protective equipment, facility inspection, health maintenance, infection control (Domains 14-18, 20)
  • Begin coordinating practical sheets and your Chief Officer

Note that the current HSO page recommends the Fifth Edition of the occupational safety text, while an older academy page references the Fourth Edition; follow the current recommendation. For a fuller plan, read the HSO study guide, and for a quick refresher near test day, the HSO cheat sheet. When you want to test yourself under realistic conditions, the HSO practice tests are built around this credential's content, and you can explore how demanding candidates find it in How Hard Is the HSO Exam?

Be cautious with outside question banks. Searches for HSO practice material frequently mix in ISO content, unrelated occupational-safety credentials or unverified answer dumps. Prefer questions that cite their source and explain the reasoning, and practice from a trustworthy set at our main practice test site.

What Is Not Publicly Known

Being honest about gaps protects you from bad planning:

  • Pass rate: not disclosed by FDSOA in the sources reviewed.
  • Written-exam domain weights: not published. The 20 areas above are practical objectives, not an official weighted blueprint.
  • Renewal: no current fixed expiration interval, renewal fee or required CEU total was publicly verified. Permanent registry retention does not prove lifetime active certification, so confirm current status with FDSOA.
  • Salary: fire-service pay varies with rank and duties, and no defensible HSO-specific earnings premium was found. See the HSO salary guide and the ROI analysis for how to think about value without invented numbers.

The credential is aimed at fire and emergency-services personnel who hold or are moving toward safety-program responsibility. If you are weighing career paths, HSO jobs and HSO training go further, and the general HSO certification overview is a good companion read.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does HSO stand for in the fire service?

It stands for Health & Safety Officer. The credential is administered by the Fire Department Safety Officers Association (FDSOA) and covers department-wide safety and health program management.

How is the HSO written exam structured?

It consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with a four-hour time limit. You need at least 70% correct to pass. The scored versus unscored breakdown and the overall pass rate are not publicly disclosed.

Is passing the written exam enough to get certified?

No. You must also complete six randomly assigned practical skill sheets. A Chief Officer's signed affidavit attesting to completion must reach FDSOA within one year of the written exam, and you should retain the actual sheets in case of a Pro Board audit.

What is the difference between HSO and ISO?

HSO focuses on department-wide programs such as risk management, equipment, facilities, records and health. ISO is the Incident Safety Officer credential, focused on safety at the emergency scene. They are separate FDSOA credentials with separate rules.

Can I retake the exam if I don't pass?

FDSOA's certification FAQ permits a retake without an additional fee within 90 days of the original test date. Confirm the details with FDSOA when you register.

Ready to pass your HSO exam?

Put this into practice with free HSO questions across every exam domain.