- What This Credential Is (and Is Not)
- Who Can Apply: The Eligibility Picture
- The NFPA 1521 Edition Wrinkle
- Two Parts: Written Exam Plus Practical Skill Sheets
- The Chief Officer's Affidavit
- What the 20 Practical Competencies Cover
- Registration, Fees and Test-Day Rules
- What FDSOA Does Not Publish
- A Qualification Roadmap Built Around HSO
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FDSOA's HSO accepts members, AHJ-sponsored non-members, and individuals who meet the HSO duties and job performance requirements (JPRs).
- Qualifying takes two parts: a 100-question, four-hour written exam (70% minimum) plus six randomly assigned practical skill sheets.
- A Chief Officer's signed affidavit must reach FDSOA within one year of your written exam before a certificate issues.
- The current application cites NFPA 1521-2020, Chapter 4, Section 4.1.1, even though the HSO overview page still references the 2015 edition.
What This Credential Is (and Is Not)
The Health & Safety Officer Certification (HSO) is issued and administered by the Fire Department Safety Officers Association (FDSOA). It is a program-level credential: it validates that you can build, manage and evaluate the occupational safety and health systems of a fire and emergency services organization. Certifications are registered and maintained through the Pro Board, which accredits certifying agencies; the Pro Board is not a commercial testing provider.
One point trips up many candidates before they even apply: HSO is not the Incident Safety Officer (ISO) credential. FDSOA offers both, but they target different jobs. ISO centers on safety at the incident scene. HSO centers on the department-wide programs behind the scene: risk management plans, accident prevention, apparatus and equipment specifications, health maintenance, infection control and records. The requirements below apply only to HSO. Do not carry ISO training, exam or affidavit rules over to this credential. If you are still sorting out the terminology, see What Is HSO Certification? and What Does HSO Stand For?.
Who Can Apply: The Eligibility Picture
FDSOA's HSO overview describes three groups who may seek certification:
- Members of the association.
- Non-members sponsored by their authority having jurisdiction (AHJ), meaning a department or governing body vouches for the candidate.
- Individuals who meet the HSO duties and job performance requirements defined in the referenced NFPA standard.
Notice what is missing: there is no universal degree requirement, no mandated number of experience hours, and no fixed number of required training hours that FDSOA publishes for every applicant. We will not invent any. What the process does require is evidence, in the form of professional-experience details, your signature, and an attestation from your chief or employer that you meet the relevant JPRs.
The NFPA 1521 Edition Wrinkle
This is the single most confusing part of HSO requirements, so it deserves plain language. Three documents do not line up perfectly:
| Source | What It Cites |
|---|---|
| HSO overview page | NFPA 1521-2015, Chapter 4, Section 4.1.1 |
| Current HSO application (July 2026 filename) | NFPA 1521-2020, Chapter 4, Section 4.1.1 JPRs, plus chief/employer attestation referencing NFPA 1020, Standard for Fire Officer |
| All 20 current practical skill sheets | NFPA 1521-2020 (even though the PDF filenames still include "2015") |
The practical takeaway: when you prepare your application and your skills evidence, work from the current application and the current skill sheets, which both point to the 2020 edition. Also be aware that NFPA has been consolidating NFPA 1521 into NFPA 1550. That consolidation alone does not tell us which version FDSOA's written exam currently uses, and other training providers describe their own courses using NFPA 1550. Do not assume a provider's prerequisites, course hours or prices apply to FDSOA's exam. Your safest anchor is the FDSOA application and sheets themselves.
Two Parts: Written Exam Plus Practical Skill Sheets
HSO certification is not earned by a single test. To qualify you must complete both of the following.
Part 1: The written examination
- Format: 100 multiple-choice questions.
- Time: four hours.
- Passing mark: a minimum of 70% correct.
- Delivery: FDSOA arranges locally proctored sessions: individual, departmental, regional, academy and conference examinations. A separate national commercial testing vendor was not verified for HSO.
For a deeper look at the number itself, read HSO Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. FDSOA does not publicly disclose the scored versus unscored question breakdown or an aggregate pass rate, which is why our own HSO pass rate analysis stays qualitative.
Part 2: Six randomly assigned practical skill sheets
You are assigned six skill sheets at random from the pool of 20. You cannot cherry-pick the six you feel most comfortable with, which is why you should prepare across the whole list. The skills-completion deadline is separate from the four-hour exam timer and separate from any academy or course duration. Think of the written exam and the skills portfolio as two clocks running on different schedules.
The Chief Officer's Affidavit
The practical component is verified through a signed attestation rather than an in-person skills test:
- You complete your six assigned practical skill sheets.
- A Chief Officer signs an affidavit attesting that you completed them.
- The affidavit must reach FDSOA within one year of your written exam before a certificate is issued.
- You return the affidavit but retain the actual skill sheets, because they may be requested for a possible Pro Board audit.
Key Takeaway
Treat your skill sheets like audit evidence from day one. Keep dated, legible copies with supporting documents (the plan, the policy, the inspection record) in a single folder. Having a Chief Officer sign off does not guarantee acceptance if your retained evidence is later questioned.
This is also where candidates should plan ahead with their department. Your chief must be willing to sign, so raise the topic early rather than after your exam date is set.
What the 20 Practical Competencies Cover
FDSOA publishes 20 practical skill sheets (NFPA 1521-2020, Chapter 4). These are unweighted practical-assessment objectives, not a weighted written-exam blueprint, so no percentage allocations exist and none should be assumed. They are, however, the clearest official picture of what an HSO is expected to do. Grouped by theme:
Planning and Program Development (Sheets 1-5)
These sheets ask you to produce written work products, not just recite facts.
- Develop a written risk management plan
- Develop a treatment and transport plan
- Develop a standard operating procedure/guideline
- Develop a training and education program
- Develop a safety procedure for live fire training
Accident Prevention, Operations and Vehicles (Sheets 6-8)
Preventive programs and safe work practices.
- Manage an accident prevention program
- Implement training for safe work practices on emergency and nonemergency operations
- Develop an emergency vehicle safety program
Audit, Investigation and Learning (Sheets 9-13)
Finding what went wrong, and making sure it is fixed.
- Conduct periodic safety audit
- Accident investigative procedures
- Post-incident analysis
- Develop corrective action plan
- Records management and data analysis
Apparatus, Equipment and Facilities (Sheets 14-17)
Specification, verification and inspection duties.
- Apparatus and equipment specifications (NFPA 1521-2020: 4.8.1 and 4.8.2)
- Verify apparatus and equipment testing and inspections
- Protective clothing and protective equipment program
- Facility inspection program
Health, Liaison and Infection Control (Sheets 18-20)
The people side of the safety program.
- Health maintenance program
- Liaison for health and safety programs
- Infection control program
For candidates who want each competency unpacked in detail, our HSO exam domains guide walks through all 20 content areas. An FDSOA Health Safety Officer Academy has historically highlighted topics such as occupational safety and health in the emergency services, risk management, pre-incident safety considerations, safety at the emergency scene, post-incident stress management, personnel roles and responsibilities, safety-program development and evaluation, and information management. Those academy highlights are historical preparation material and not an exhaustive exam blueprint.
Registration, Fees and Test-Day Rules
Once you meet the eligibility picture, the mechanics are straightforward but unforgiving on timing.
- Application timing: submit your application 15 days before your testing date.
- Arrival: arrive 30 minutes before the scheduled start.
- Check-in cutoff: under the HSO procedure, a candidate who has not checked in 15 minutes before the start is not admitted.
- Identification: bring valid picture identification.
- Retake: the certification FAQ allows a retake without an additional fee within 90 days of the original test date.
- Study mode: self-paced study is supported; you are not required to attend a formal course to sit the exam.
What it costs
FDSOA publishes two exam fees: $95 USD under the exact label "FDSOA Exam Fee," and $225 USD for non-members. Training and materials are priced separately, and the $95 figure should not be treated as a blanket member discount without confirming how FDSOA applies it to your situation. For a full breakdown of exam fees versus training and textbook costs, see HSO Certification Cost 2026.
Scheduling windows vary because sessions are local and arranged through FDSOA. For planning around sessions and deadlines, see HSO Exam Dates 2026.
What FDSOA Does Not Publish
Honest requirements coverage includes the gaps. As of our October 2026 source review, the following are not publicly verified for HSO:
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| Aggregate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Scored vs. unscored question split | Not publicly disclosed |
| Weighted written-exam domain percentages | Not published |
| Fixed expiration interval | Not publicly verified |
| Renewal fee | Not publicly verified |
| Required CEU total | Not publicly verified |
| Universal minimum education or experience hours | None asserted |
One subtlety: the fact that certifications are retained in a registry does not by itself prove lifetime active status. Confirm renewal expectations directly with FDSOA and your employer. Salary expectations are similarly murky because fire-service ranks and duties differ widely; see HSO Salary Guide 2026 and HSO Jobs for context rather than a promised premium.
A Qualification Roadmap Built Around HSO
Because you can't pick which six skill sheets you receive, sequence your preparation so the written exam and the portfolio support each other. The current FDSOA-recommended text is Occupational Safety and Health in the Emergency Services, Fifth Edition; an earlier academy page cited the Fourth Edition, which should not be treated as the current recommendation.
Eligibility and paperwork
- Confirm which route applies: member, AHJ-sponsored non-member, or JPR-qualified individual.
- Download the current application and read the NFPA 1521-2020 Section 4.1.1 JPRs.
- Talk to your chief about the affidavit and the one-year deadline.
Program-building domains
- Draft work products for risk management, SOP/guideline, training program and live fire safety procedure.
- Read the matching chapters of the Fifth Edition text.
Prevention, investigation and equipment
- Cover accident prevention, investigation, post-incident analysis and corrective action together; they form one loop.
- Review apparatus specifications, testing verification and PPE programs.
Health domains and timed practice
- Work through health maintenance, liaison and infection control.
- Take timed 100-question sets and flag weak topics.
For a fuller preparation plan, read the HSO study guide and keep the HSO cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, try the HSO practice tests. Questions found online often blur HSO with ISO or generic occupational safety credentials, so favor practice material built specifically around HSO's program-management scope. If you are weighing the effort, How Hard Is the HSO Exam? and Is the HSO Certification Worth It? can help you decide, and HSO Training covers course options.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The overview allows members, AHJ-sponsored non-members, and individuals meeting the HSO duties and JPRs. Non-members pay the published $225 USD exam fee rather than the $95 USD FDSOA Exam Fee, so confirm your category with FDSOA when you apply.
No universal figure is asserted. An older application included a five-year clause, but the newer form omits it. The JPRs and the chief or employer attestation still apply, so check with FDSOA if your experience is limited.
The Chief Officer's signed affidavit must reach FDSOA within one year of your written exam before a certificate is issued. Keep the actual skill sheets yourself in case of a Pro Board audit.
The certification FAQ permits a retake without an additional fee within 90 days of the original test date. The passing standard is a minimum of 70% correct on 100 questions in four hours.
No. Both are FDSOA credentials, but HSO focuses on department-wide health and safety programs, while ISO addresses incident-scene safety. Their training, exam and affidavit rules should not be mixed.