HSO logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

HSO Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • The written exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in four hours; you need at least 70% correct.
  • Certification also requires six randomly assigned practical skill sheets, attested by a Chief Officer's signed affidavit.
  • The affidavit must reach FDSOA within one year of the written exam before a certificate is issued.
  • Published fees are $95 (labeled FDSOA Exam Fee) and $225 non-member; training and materials cost extra.

Which HSO This Cheat Sheet Covers

This one-page-style review covers the Health & Safety Officer Certification (HSO) administered by the Fire Department Safety Officers Association (FDSOA). It is a fire-service safety credential, and it is distinct from FDSOA's Incident Safety Officer (ISO) certification. The two are related, and plenty of search results blur them, but their exam, training and paperwork rules are not interchangeable. If you are still orienting yourself, start with What Is HSO Certification? and then return here for the condensed facts.

Everything below comes from FDSOA's published HSO page, its general certification information page, the current HSO application, and the issuer's HSO skill-sheet index. Where those sources conflict or say nothing, this sheet says so instead of guessing.

HSO is not ISO: The FDSOA HSO page contains a stray reference to an ISO role in its examination paragraph, apparently copied over. The general certification FAQ independently confirms the written-exam format, so the identity of this credential is not in doubt. Just do not carry ISO training, exam or affidavit rules into your HSO plan.

The Two-Part Path: Written Exam Plus Practical Sheets

HSO certification is not a single test day. Two tracks run in parallel, and both must be complete before FDSOA issues a certificate.

Track 1: The written examination

  • Format: 100 multiple-choice questions
  • Time limit: four hours
  • Minimum to pass: 70% correct
  • Delivery: FDSOA arranges locally proctored sessions (individual, departmental, regional, academy and conference exams). No separate national commercial testing vendor or HSO-specific remote-proctoring service was verified.

Track 2: Six practical skill sheets

  • Six skill sheets are randomly assigned to the candidate from the pool of 20.
  • A Chief Officer signs an affidavit attesting that the candidate completed them.
  • The affidavit goes to FDSOA; the actual completed sheets are retained locally in case of a Pro Board audit.

Because the sheets are randomly assigned, you cannot safely skip any of the 20 competencies. For a deeper look at how the written portion feels, see How Hard Is the HSO Exam? and the plain-numbers companion HSO Passing Score 2026.

Numbers and Rules to Memorize

ItemWhat the issuer sources say
Written exam length100 multiple-choice questions
Written exam timeFour hours
Minimum passing result70% correct
Practical componentSix randomly assigned skill sheets
Affidavit deadlineMust reach FDSOA within one year of the written exam
Fee, labeled "FDSOA Exam Fee"$95 USD
Non-member fee$225 USD
Application timingSubmit 15 days before testing
Arrival30 minutes before the scheduled start; valid picture ID required
Check-in cutoffCandidates not checked in 15 minutes before the start are disallowed
RetakeNo additional fee if retaken within 90 days of the original test date
Read the fee labels carefully: The $95 figure appears under the exact label "FDSOA Exam Fee," and $225 is listed as the non-member figure. Do not assume $95 is a blanket member discount for everything. Training and materials are priced separately. The full picture is in HSO Certification Cost 2026.

Two timing facts are easy to confuse. The four-hour limit applies only to the written exam sitting. The one-year affidavit window and any academy or course length are separate clocks entirely. Treat them as three different timers when you plan.

For dates and registration windows, see HSO Exam Dates 2026. Because FDSOA sessions are locally arranged, your host department, academy or conference determines the actual date.

Eligibility and the NFPA Edition Wrinkle

The HSO overview says the credential is open to members, non-members sponsored by an authority having jurisdiction (AHJ), and individuals who meet the HSO duties and job performance requirements (JPRs). The application collects professional-experience details, an applicant signature and a chief or employer attestation that references NFPA 1020, Standard for Fire Officer. For the full eligibility walkthrough, read HSO Requirements 2026.

The experience-clause detail

An older FDSOA application (the 2024 version) contained an explicit five-year experience clause. The newer application, whose filename encodes July 10, 2026, does not repeat it. That does not mean experience stops mattering: the JPRs and the AHJ or chief attestation still apply. Do not treat five years as a current universal rule, and do not assume there is no experience expectation either. When in doubt, confirm with FDSOA before applying.

Which NFPA 1521 edition?

  • The HSO overview page still cites NFPA 1521-2015, Chapter 4, Section 4.1.1.
  • The current application and all 20 retrieved practical sheets specify NFPA 1521-2020, even though many sheet filenames still say 2015.
  • NFPA has documented consolidation of NFPA 1521 into NFPA 1550. That alone does not prove which version FDSOA's written exam currently uses.

Key Takeaway

Prepare from the current application and skill sheets (NFPA 1521-2020), but keep an eye on FDSOA announcements about the NFPA 1550 transition. Ask your exam host which edition the written test aligns with rather than assuming.

The 20 Skill-Sheet Competencies at a Glance

FDSOA's HSO skill-sheet index lists 20 practical competencies, and all 20 current PDFs were reviewed in full. These are practical-assessment objectives, not a published weighted blueprint for the written exam. No percentage allocations exist for them in the issuer sources. A longer treatment lives in HSO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 20 Content Areas; here is the compact list:

  1. Develop a written risk management plan
  2. Develop a treatment and transport plan
  3. Develop a standard operating procedure/guideline
  4. Develop a training and education program
  5. Develop a safety procedure for live fire training
  6. Manage an accident prevention program
  7. Implement training for safe work practices on emergency and nonemergency operations
  8. Develop an emergency vehicle safety program
  9. Conduct periodic safety audit
  10. Accident investigative procedures
  11. Post-incident analysis
  12. Develop corrective action plan
  13. Records management and data analysis
  14. Apparatus and equipment specifications
  15. Verify apparatus and equipment testing and inspections
  16. Protective clothing and protective equipment program
  17. Facility inspection program
  18. Health maintenance program
  19. Liaison for health and safety programs
  20. Infection control program

Notice the verbs: develop, manage, implement, conduct, verify. The credential rewards people who build and run safety systems, not just recite rules. That is also why HSO jobs tend to sit in departments that need someone to own programs, audits and records.

Grouping the 20 Competencies So They Stick

Memorizing 20 items in a flat list is slow. Grouping them by function makes recall much faster. These clusters are an editorial study aid, not an official FDSOA structure.

Planning and Written Programs (Domains 1-5)

Risk management, treatment and transport, SOPs/guidelines, training programs and live-fire training safety are all "write the document" competencies.

  • Be able to describe what a risk management plan must contain and how it is maintained
  • Know why an SOP/guideline needs a clear purpose, scope and review cycle
  • Understand the safety controls that make live-fire training different from classroom instruction

Prevention and Operations (Domains 6-8)

Accident prevention, safe work practices training and emergency vehicle safety all target how people actually get hurt on and off the fireground.

  • Link prevention programs to measurable hazards, not general slogans
  • Cover both emergency and nonemergency operations
  • Expect vehicle safety to involve policy, training and accountability together

Review and Learning Loop (Domains 9-13)

Audits, accident investigation, post-incident analysis, corrective action plans and records/data analysis form a cycle: find the problem, study it, fix it, track it.

  • Know the difference between auditing a program and investigating a specific accident
  • Understand that a corrective action plan follows analysis and needs an owner and follow-up
  • Records only matter if they feed data analysis

Equipment and Facilities (Domains 14-17)

Apparatus and equipment specifications, verifying testing and inspections, protective clothing/equipment and facility inspections are the hardware side of the job.

  • Distinguish specifying equipment from verifying that it was tested and inspected
  • Treat PPE as a program, not a purchase

Health and Coordination (Domains 18-20)

Health maintenance, liaison for health and safety programs and infection control cover firefighter wellness and the relationships needed to sustain it.

  • Expect program-level thinking: who is responsible, who is informed, how is it reviewed

FDSOA's historical academy curriculum (a May 2025 Health Safety Officer Academy) lists complementary themes such as occupational safety and health basics, risk management, pre-incident safety considerations, safety at the emergency scene, post-incident stress management, personnel roles and responsibilities, safety-program development and evaluation, and information management. Those topics are unweighted and historical, so use them as a coverage check rather than a blueprint. The current HSO page recommends Occupational Safety and Health in the Emergency Services, Fifth Edition; the older Fourth Edition appeared on the 2025 academy page and should not be treated as the current pick.

Affidavit, Audit and Paperwork Facts

  • Who signs: a Chief Officer attests to completion of the six assigned skill sheets.
  • What FDSOA receives: the signed affidavit, not the sheets themselves.
  • What you keep: the actual completed skill sheets, in case of a Pro Board audit.
  • Deadline: the affidavit must reach FDSOA within one year of the written exam.
  • Consequence: no certificate is issued until both the passing written result and the affidavit are in.

Certifications are registered and maintained through the Pro Board, which accredits certifying agencies; it is not a commercial testing provider. Passing the written exam early is therefore only half the job. Many candidates plan the written test first and let the affidavit clock quietly run down, which is the most avoidable way to stall a certificate.

Practical habit: Create a single folder (paper or digital) the day you register. Put the application copy, assigned skill sheets, evidence of completion and the signed affidavit in it. If an audit request ever arrives, you will not be reconstructing records from memory.

What Is Not Published

Good cheat sheets also mark the blank spots so you do not build a plan on rumor.

  • Pass rate: no aggregate HSO pass rate is publicly disclosed in the issuer sources. See HSO Pass Rate 2026 for how to think about this honestly.
  • Scored vs. unscored questions: not disclosed.
  • Written-exam domain weights: not published. The 20 competencies above are practical objectives.
  • Open-book, calculator and adaptive-testing rules for HSO: not verified. Reasonable accommodations are covered in FDSOA's general certification guidance, so ask early if you need one.
  • Expiration, renewal fee and CEU requirements: no current fixed interval, fee or CEU total was publicly verified. Permanent registry retention is not the same as proof of lifetime active certification, so confirm directly before promising anyone a renewal timeline.
  • HSO-specific salary premium: none could be defended from public data, since fire-service pay varies by rank and duties. The honest treatment is in HSO Salary Guide 2026, and the value question is explored in Is the HSO Certification Worth It?

Be equally cautious with practice material. Search results for "HSO practice test" often mix in ISO content, generic occupational-safety credentials or unverified answer dumps. Prefer original questions that explain their reasoning and tie back to a named competency.

Scheduling Domains Across Your Prep

Because both tracks matter, a sensible plan front-loads the practical sheets that need other people (your chief, your department's records) and layers written review alongside. This sample sequence is an editorial suggestion, not an FDSOA requirement; the full method is in the HSO Study Guide.

Week 1

Paperwork and written-program domains

  • Confirm eligibility, application timing (15 days before testing) and your exam host
  • Review Domains 1-5, since they involve the most document-building
Week 2

Prevention and the learning loop

  • Domains 6-8, then Domains 9-13 as a connected cycle
  • Note which of your department's real records could serve as evidence
Week 3

Equipment, facilities, health

  • Domains 14-20, ending with infection control and health maintenance
  • Talk with your Chief Officer about affidavit logistics
Week 4

Timed practice

  • Take a 100-question timed set from the HSO practice test and review every miss against its domain

Repeating a timed set is more useful than rereading notes. A handful of full-length attempts on the main practice test site shows you which clusters need another pass before test day.

Quick-Answer FAQ

How many questions are on the HSO written exam, and what score passes?

The written exam has 100 multiple-choice questions with a four-hour limit, and the minimum passing result is 70% correct. The scored/unscored split is not publicly disclosed.

Is the written exam enough to get certified?

No. You must also complete six randomly assigned practical skill sheets, with a Chief Officer's signed affidavit reaching FDSOA within one year of the written exam, before a certificate is issued.

What does the exam cost?

FDSOA publishes $95 under the label "FDSOA Exam Fee" and $225 for non-members. Training and materials are priced separately, so budget for those on top.

Can I retake the exam if I fail?

FDSOA's certification FAQ permits a retake with no additional fee within 90 days of the original test date. Confirm the details with FDSOA when you schedule.

Is HSO the same as ISO?

No. Health & Safety Officer and Incident Safety Officer are separate FDSOA credentials with separate rules. For a quick orientation to the acronym itself, see What Does HSO Stand For? and HSO Training.

Ready to pass your HSO exam?

Put this into practice with free HSO questions across every exam domain.